Planning Commission

"This is a Living Shoreline" interpretive sign


The Planning Commission consists of five members appointed by the Commissioners for five-year terms.

  • Meetings: 1st Thursday each month at 10:00 am until further notice. Unless notice is given of an alternative venue, all meetings will be held at the Boy Scout Cabin, located at 407 St. Mary’s Square.
  • The Planning Commission prepares and approves the Town Comprehensive Plan covering the lands and waters of the Town.
  • Rules of Procedure

Town of St. Michaels Architectural Guidelines can be downloaded here:
PART 1 TOSM Architectural Guidelines 2018
PART 2 TOSM Architectural Guidelines 2018


  • Oversees plans for major geographic sections or divisions of the Town, including proposed subdivision plats and re-subdivision of existing record plats,
  • Reviews site plans for compliance with the Town Code,
  • Recommends boundaries of the various districts and appropriate regulations to be enforced,
  • Reviews and make recommendations to the Town Commissioners on applications for growth allocation,
  • Advises the Town Commissioners and Board of Appeals on matters relating to zoning, annexations, applications for special exceptions, and variances when appropriate.